Come join us on:

Thursday February 23th
From 6:00-7:30pm

  Fun and games based
on best selling books

 This month the book is: “Diary of a Wimpy Kid”

Please call to register: 964-2320

Teen and Tween Book Club

February 28th at 6:45PM

We always have a fun discussion about our current book and we end our talk with some dessert!

The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier’s Smile!
Please call to register 964-2320

April Showers Cooking Class
Saturday April 8th at 11:00AM

Liz is back with some recipes for showers and parties
Samples will be served.
Space is limited so register early.

 

Photo gallery installing our new shelving

The project was completed on December 22nd and we are very happy with the how it turned out.  Please stop by to check it out!

Upcoming Events

  • Munchkin Monday Storytime

    February 27, 2017 @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am
    Hamlin Public Library, 1680 Lake Rd, Hamlin, NY 14464, USA

    Stories and themed craft for ages 2-5.

    See more details

  • Tweens & Teens Book Discussion Group

    February 28, 2017 @ 6:45 pm - 7:45 pm
    Hamlin Public Library, 1680 Lake Rd, Hamlin, NY 14464, USA

    Monthly book discussion AND dessert for grades 5 through 12. Stop by to pick up this month's book and sign up.

    See more details

  • Mega Block Club for Preschoolers

    March 1, 2017 @ 10:30 am - 11:30 am

    See more details

  • Thursday Night Storytime Adventures

    March 2, 2017 @ 6:45 pm - 7:30 pm
    Hamlin Public Library, 1680 Lake Rd, Hamlin, NY 14464, USA

    A different animal theme each week! We read fiction and non-fiction books and then do a related craft. Ages 5+.

    See more details

New Arrivals

Adult Nonfiction

Secret Service Dogs: The Heroes Who Protect the President of the United States

In an age fraught with terrorism, United States Secret Service canine teams risk their lives to safeguard the president, vice president, their families, visiting heads of state, and a host of others. Unprecedented access to these heroic dog teams has allowed a fascinating first-time-ever look at a very special breed of heroes.

Wherever the president goes, there will be dogs. They’ll be there no matter what the country or state. They’ll be there regardless of the political climate, the danger level, the weather, or the hour.

“If you let down your guard on the job,” says Special Agent Bill G., canine program manager, “it can change the history of the world.” It’s a burden Secret Service dog handlers take extremely seriously regardless of their specialty. Tactical dog handlers on the White House lawn, handlers whose dogs sniff for explosives around the world, and those who walk their amiable floppy-eared dogs up and down Pennsylvania Avenue all live one common mantra: Not on my watch. Or my dog’s.

Reserve a copy

View new Adult Nonfiction
 200 Stitch Patterns in Words and Symbols Melissa Leapman
Israel Daneil Gordis
Killing the Rising Sun Bill O’Reily
Lucky Dog Lessons: Train Your Dog in 7 Days Brandon McMillian
Magnolia Story Chip Gaines
Make It Stick Peter Brown
Men’s Health Big Book of Excerises Adam Campbell
Modern Beaded Lace Cynthia Daniel
Modern Mother of the Bride Guide Kate Martin
On Living Kerry Eagan
One Pan, Two Plates Carla Snyder
Piecing Makeover Patty Murphy
Pursuit of Power Richard Evans
Settle For More Megyn Kelly
Talking as Fast as I Can Lauren Graham
Thank You for Being Late Thomas Friedman
The Case Against Sugar Gary Taubes
The Mayo Clinic Diet Donald Hensrud
The Undoing Project Michael Lewis
Universe in Your Hand Christopher Galfard
Adult Fiction

Never Never

Never…
assume you know someone. Harry Blue is the top Sex Crimes investigator in her department. She’s a seasoned pro who’s seen it all. But even she didn’t see this coming: her own brother arrested for the grisly murders of three beautiful young women.
Never…
accept a reassignment to the middle of nowhere “for your own good.” Harry’s been sent to a makeshift town in a desolate landscape-a world full of easy money, plenty of illegal ways to spend it, and a ragtag collection of transient characters who thrive on the fringes of society. A place where little grows, but evil flourishes.
Never…
trust anyone. Looking into a seemingly simple missing persons case, Harry’s been assigned to a new “partner.” But is he actually meant to be a watchdog? Still reeling from the accusations against her brother, Harry can’t even trust her own instincts, which she’s never doubted…until now.
Never…
go anywhere without leaving a trace. Far from the world she knows and desperate to clear her brother’s name, Harry has to mine the dark secrets of her strange new home for answers to a deepening mystery-before she vanishes in a place where no one would ever think to look for her.

Reserve a copy

View new Adult Fiction

January Releases….

The  Prisoner Alex Berenson
The Girl Before J.P. Delaney
I Like My Life Abby Fabiaschi
Right Behind You Lisa Gardner
Chasing Shadows Karen Harper
The Dry Jane Harper
Seven Minutes in Heaven Eloisa James
The Danger of Desire Sabrina Jeffries
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth Lindsey Lee Johnson
Fatal John Lescroart
The Fifth Letter Nicola Moriaty
Burning Bright Nick Petrie
Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk Kathleen Rooney
Class Lucinda Rosenfeld
Two Days Gone Randall Silvis
Home Sweet Home April Smith
The Mistress Danielle Steele
Her Every Fear Peter Swanson
Ring of Fire Brad Taylor
The Guest of the South Battery Karen White
Below the Belt Stuart Woods

 

Children and Teens

Project (UN) Popular

Middle school isn’t a popularity contest. It’s a war.

Perry and her best friend, Venice, are excited to be yearbook photographers and tell the story of their school through their art. But that’s before they find out the truth: the spontaneous moments they’re supposed to capture are all faked.
Yearbooks should include everybody—even the dorks. But Perry feels totally stuck. Until she starts taking flattering shots of popular people, none of her candids will ever be chosen. Fighting back isn’t going to win her any friends—she might even lose some. It’s time to decide what’s more important: fitting in . . . or standing out.

Reserve a copy

View Children and Teens Books
New Teen Books
A List of Cages Robin Roe
Every Falling Star Lee Sungju
Frostblood Elly Blake
Moon Chosen P.C. Cast
One-Punch Man 10 One
Replica Lauren Oliver
The Stranger Game A.S. King
This is Our Story Ashley Elston
What Light Jay Asher
New Children’s Books
365 Things to do With Legos Simon Huges
A Moon of My Own Jenifer Rustgi
Children’s Illustrated Encyclopedia Dorling Kindersley Inc.
Let’s Play! Herve Tullet
National Geographic Kids Almanac National Geo. Society
Nija on the Farm Luke Flowers
Pablo in the Snow Teri Sloat
Pokeman Go Ultimate Full Guide Clarence LeFort
Spunky Monkey Bill Martin Jr.
The Crooked Sixpence Jennifer Bell
The Wolf’s Boy Susan Williams Beckhorn
There is No WiFi on the Prarie Nicholas Time
Who was Claude Monet Ann Waldron
Zoo Day Anne F. Rockwell

 

Movies
Love and Friendship

The Light Between Two Oceans

Rated PG

The Big Friendly Giant (BFG, for short) is the tall guy who grabs Sophie from her bed in an orphanage and runs her off to Giant Country. He’s her protector from the other, people-eating giants, and he’s also a catcher of good dreams for human children. He’s bumbling, funny, smart, kind, and as loveable as he is tall.

Reserve a copy

View New Movies

New Adult DVD’s

A Man Called Ove
Ben-Hur
Birth of a Nation
Bridget Jones’s Baby
Deepwater Horizon
Denial
Equity
Florence Foster
Game of Thrones Season 7
Homeland Season 5
Inferno
Jason Borne
Keeping Up With the Joneses
Little House on the Prairie Season 7
Never Go Back
Poldark Season 2
Sully
The Accountant
The Dressmaker
When the Bough Breaks

Children’s DVD’s

Apple of My Eye
Be My Valentine
Lego Star Wars-Freemaker
Let’s Learn S.T.E.M.
Pound Puppies : Puppy Party
Secert Life of Pets
Storks

This is just a small sampling of the new DVD’s coming to the library.  Stop in to pick up your next favorite movie!