New Arrivals

Adult Nonfiction

Grown and flown : how to support your teen, stay close as a family, and raise independent adults

An essential parenting guide for building a strong relationship with your teen, while preparing them to take flight from the nest

 

High school: it’s a time when kids are constantly changing, as they draw closer to graduation and young adulthood. But how do you parent your kids through this complicated time? And how do you maintain a strong relationship as they prepare to transition from life at home to life on their own?

Lisa Heffernan and Mary Dell Harrington are here to help. While seeing their own kids through this transition, they founded Grown and Flown: a website and online community for parents of teens that features curated content from experts, shared experiences from parents, and tried and true advice. And now they’ve compiled key takeaways and fresh insights from all that they’ve learned over the years to form this handy, essential guide.

GROWN AND FLOWN is a crucial resource for parenting teens, leading up to–and through–the transition from high school to college to those first years on their own. It covers everything from the monumental of parenting (how to let your kids go) to the mundane (how to shop for a dorm room). Organized by topic–such as academics, family life, love and sex, anxiety and mental health–it features a combination of the authors’ stories, advice from experts, and practical lists and sidebars.

In this accessible, easy-to-use manual, parents will feel supported and understood in their quest to support and understand their teens. GROWN AND FLOWN is required reading for anyone looking to raise an adult with whom you have an enduring, profound connection.

Reserve a copy

View new Adult Nonfiction
7 Secrets to Investing Like Warren Buffet Mary Buffet
Algebra 2: the Easy Way Meg Clemens
Becoming Dr. Seuss Brian Jay Jones
A Beginner’s Guide to Japan Pico Iyer
The Best American Science and Nature Writing 2019 Sy Montgomery
Birnbaum’s 2020 Walt Disney World Birnbaum Guides
DK Eyewitness New England DK Travel
The Dog Went Over the Mountain Peter Zheutlin
Easy Keto Meal Prep Jenny Castaneda
Eat to Beat Illness Dr. Rupy Aujla
The Foreclosure Survival Guide Amy Loftsgordon
The Gifts Beneath Your Anxiety Pat Longo
Guinness World Records 2020 Guinness World Records
How Happiness Happens Max Lucado
How to Build Your Own Tiny House Roger Marshall
Llewellyn’s 2020 Sun Sign Book Lesley Francis
Mayo Clinic Guide to Fibromyalgia Andy Abril M.D.
The Mindful Guide to Managing Diabetes Joseph Napora
The Rabbit Effect Kelli Harding M.D.
So Much More Zulema Arroyo Farley
Thank You for My Service Mat Best
Adult Fiction

The Giver of Stars

 

When Alice Wright agrees to marry handsome American Bennett Van Cleve and leave her stifling life in England, she has little idea that life in Baileyville, Kentucky, will soon seem as constrained as life back home–especially since marrying Bennett also turns out to mean marrying his overbearing father, owner of the local coal mine. So when a call goes out for a team of women to deliver books as part of Mrs. Roosevelt’s new traveling WPA library, Alice signs on enthusiastically.
The leader, and soon Alice’s greatest ally, is Margery, the smart-talking, self-sufficient daughter of a notorious local criminal, a woman who’s never asked a man’s permission for anything. Alice finds Margery as bracing and courageous as anyone she’s ever met–and comes to rely on her, especially as her marriage starts to fail.
They will be joined by three other women–two white, one black–and become known as the Horseback Librarians of Kentucky.
What happens to these women–and to the men they love–becomes a classic drama of loyalty, justice, humanity and passion. Though they face all kinds of dangers–from moonshiners to snakes, from mountains to floods–and social disapproval to boot. But they believe deeply in their work bringing books to people who had never had any, expanding horizons and arming them with facts that will change their lives.
Based on a true story rooted in America’s past, the storytelling itself here is enthralling–the pages fly, and the book is unparalleled in its scope and its epic breadth. Funny, heartbreaking, and rewarding, it is a rich novel of women’s friendship, of true love, and of what happens when we reach beyond our grasp for the great beyond.

Reserve a copy

View New Adult Fiction
Adult Fiction
The 19th Christmas by James Patterson
All This Could Be Yours by Jami Attenberg
Bloody Genius by John Sandford
Blue Moon by Lee Child
A Book of Bones by John Connolly
Child’s Play by Danielle Steel
Cilka’s Journey by Heather Morris
Dachshund Through the Snow by David Rosenfelt
A Dog’s Promise by Bruce Cameron
Full Throttle by Joe Hill
The Guardians by John Grisham
Imaginary Friend by Stephen Chbosky
Lady Smoke by Laura Sebastian
Let It Snow by Nancy Thayer
 Teens

Angel Mage

A new fantasy masterpiece from Garth Nix, bestselling author of the Old Kingdom series.

More than a century has passed since Liliath crept into the empty sarcophagus of Saint Marguerite, fleeing the Fall of Ystara. But she emerges from her magical sleep still beautiful, looking no more than nineteen, and once again renews her single-minded quest to be united with her lover, Palleniel, the archangel of Ystara.

It’s a seemingly impossible quest, but Liliath is one of the greatest practitioners of angelic magic to have ever lived, summoning angels and forcing them to do her bidding. Four young people hold her interest: Simeon, a studious doctor-in-training; Henri, a dedicated fortune hunter; Agnez, a glory-seeking musketeer; and Dorotea, icon-maker and scholar of angelic magic.

The four feel a strange kinship from the moment they meet but do not suspect their importance. And none of them know just how Liliath plans to use them, as mere pawns in her plan, no matter the cost to everyone else . . .

Fans of Cassandra Clare, Holly Black, and Leigh Bardugo will fall in love with Angel Mage, a feminist fantasy that takes place in an alternate European world ruled by fearsome magic and deadly passions.

View Teens Books
Teen and Tweens
10 Blind Dates Ashley Elston
The Fountains of Silence Ruta Sepetys
Girls Who Run the World Diana Kapp
The Good Luck Girls Charlotte Nicole Davis
In the Hall with the Knife Diana Peterfreund
My Hero Academia 21 Kohei Horikoshi
The Never Tilting World Rin Chupeco
Not Entering Addamsville Francesca Zappia
Scars Like Wings Erin Stewart
Thirteen Doorways, Wolves Behind them All Laura Ruby
Tokyo Ghoul: re 13 Sui Ishida
   
   
   
Children’s

Bear Came Along

 cheerful and action-packed adventure about the importance of friendship and community from a successful author and illustrator duo!
Once there was a river flowing through a forest. The river didn’t know it was capable of adventures until a big bear came along. But adventures aren’t any fun by yourself, and so enters Froggy, Turtles, Beaver, Racoons, and Duck.

These very different animals take off downstream, but they didn’t know they needed one another until thankfully, the river came along.
 
This hilarious picture book and heartfelt message celebrates the joy and fun that’s in store when you embark together on a ride of a lifetime.

Reserve a copy

View Children's Books
Picture Books  
Chicken talk Patricia MacLachlan
From Tree to Sea Shelley Moore Thomas
Good Boy Sergio Ruzzier
How to give your Cat a Bath Nicola Winstanley
In the Quiet Noisy Woods Michael Rosen
Say Something! Peter Hamilton Reynolds
Sheep Dog Eric Barclay
What a Cold Needs Barbara Botner
What If…? Then We… Rebecca Kai Dotlich
   
Board Books  
Spring Babies Kathryn Galbraith
Summer Babies Kathryn Galbraith
Super Pooper and whiz Kid Potty Power Eunice Moyle
Winter babies Kathryn Galbraith
Movies
Love and Friendship

The Fate of The Fast and The Furious

A mysterious woman (Charlize Theron) seduces Dom (Vin Diesel) into a betrayal of those closest to him, forcing the team to face trials that will test them as never before.

Reserve a copy

View Adult and Children's Movies

Adult DVD’s

Art of Self Defense
Fate of the Fast and Furious
Harvest Love
Homeland Season 7
Love at Sea
Love Struck at Sea
Love Struck Café
Love Takes Flight
Men in Black International
NCIS Season 16
This is Us Season 2
This is Us Season 3
When the Heart Calls
X-Men: Dark Phoenix

Children’s DVD’s

 
Aladdin
Crazy Birds
Curious George 30 Story Collection
Dinosaur Train: Dinosaurs Big and Small!
Lego DC Batman family
Peppa Pig Pumpkin Party
Shimmer and Shine: Legend of the Dragon Treasure
Toy Story 4
Wild Kratts: Creepy Creatures

 

This is just a small sampling of the new DVD’s coming to the library.  Stop in to pick up your next favorite movie!